top of page
  • Writer's pictureadmin

2019 USA Adaptive Water Ski Team Selected

*Not pictured, coach Matt Oberholtz, assistant coach, Brian Detrick, and team doctor, Kieth Barbour
2019 US Adaptive World Team

USA Adaptive Water Ski & Wake Sports (formerly Water Skiers with Disabilities Association), a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski & Wake Sports, has announced the selection of the 2019 USA Adaptive Water Ski Team that will compete in the 14th Disabled Water Ski World Championships, July 22-28, 2019, in Skarnes, Norway. The selections were announced following the conclusion of the 25th Barbara Bolding/Jim Grew Fund Adaptive Water Ski National Championships, Sept. 5-8, in Paducah, Ky.

Within each event (slalom, tricks and jumping) at the Disabled Worlds, athletes are grouped into the three categories of seated (paraplegics and quadriplegics), standing (arm and/or leg disabilities with or without prosthesis) and vision impaired (partially or totally blind). At the 2017 Disabled Water Ski World Championships, the USA Adaptive Water Ski Team earned the world team silver medal and seven U.S. team members won individual medals.

Athletes selected to the 2019 USA Adaptive Water Ski Team were: Marco Bungert (Huntersville, N.C.) – Seated Men; David Carter (Dallas, Ga.) – Seated Men; Nicholas Fairall (Andover, N.H.) – Seated Men; Chad Guzman (Gilbert, Ariz.) – Seated Men; Elijah Hager (Alexis, N.C.) – Seated Men; Katie Mawby (Grand Haven, Mich.) – Vision Impaired Women; Robbie Parks (Lexington, N.C.) – Seated Men; Connor Poggetto (Sacramento, Calif.) – Seated Men; Mike Royal (Magnolia, Texas) – Vision Impaired Men; Sarah Switzer (Madison, Ala.) – Seated Women; Craig Timm (Center City, Minn.) – Standing Men; and Chuck Wesson (Charlotte, N.C.) – Seated Men.

Geneva Brett (Los Banos, Calif.) will serve as manager; Jessica Van Dyk (Belding, Mich.) will be the assistant manager; Matt Oberholtz (Oroville, Calif.) will serve as the coach; Brian Detrick (Elk Grove, Calif.) will be the assistant coach; and Dr. Keith Barbour (Monroe, Mich.) will serve as the team physician.

44 views0 comments


bottom of page